Skip to content
Pixidia Trails
This article contains affiliate links. If you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It helps keep Pixidia free.

A guided day walk or a Milford Sound day trip fills a day when the Milford or Routeburn huts are full, but neither replaces the multi-day hut walk. DOC keeps no waiting list, and Milford sold out in 34 minutes when 2026/27 bookings opened in May 2026. Your realistic route into a full date is a cancellation.

If you want to walk the Milford or the Routeburn in the 2026/27 season, which runs from 1 November 2026 to 30 April 2027, the first thing to plan around is the booking system, not the scenery. DOC’s Milford bookings sold out in 34 minutes when they opened in May 2026. DOC keeps no waiting list for facilities that are already full. The Routeburn opened two days later, on 15 May, and DOC reported a peak of 13,100 users without publishing a sell-out time.

When the huts are gone, you still have options, but none of them is the same thing as the track. This article compares guided day walks, Milford Sound day trips and the one guided Routeburn product that Viator sells with the full self-guided hut walk, and it says plainly where a day option falls short. Viator prices are for two adults in US dollars, checked on 26 October 2026 across the 1 November 2026 to 28 April 2027 window. They change with the date and the party size, so check the date you want before you pay.

Milford Track 53.5 km one way, 3 nights and 4 days, one direction only (DOC)
Routeburn Track 33 km one way, 3 days and 2 nights for most walkers (DOC)
Great Walks season 1 November 2026 to 30 April 2027; last Milford departure 28 April 2027
Hut fees, adult, per night Milford NZ$106 (NZ) or NZ$152 (international); Routeburn NZ$88 or NZ$132
2026 sell-out Milford in 34 minutes, 13,500 peak users (DOC)
Waiting list None for sold-out facilities (DOC); first come, first served

Why the huts sell out, and what DOC does not offer

DOC’s own numbers explain the pressure. Its 3 June 2026 release reported more than 33,000 bookings over two weeks across more than 400 facilities, with peak demand of 13,500 users for the Milford and 13,100 for the Routeburn. DOC also said that the Milford and Abel Tasman huts reached about 95 per cent occupancy last summer, and Kepler about 91 per cent. It gave no occupancy figure for the Routeburn.

Two rules matter more than the statistics. The first is that there is no waiting list. DOC says it does not run waiting lists for future seasons or for facilities that are already booked out, and every booking is first come, first served. Some guides tell you to join a list. There is no list to join. The second is that a cancellation is the realistic way into a full date. DOC tells people who missed out to keep checking, to travel outside peak periods and public holidays, and to consider lesser-known tracks, campsites, backcountry huts and short walks.

Walking without a valid booking is not an option either. DOC warns that a walker without one may be charged a penalty or turned away if the hut is full. A sold-out date is a reason to change the plan, not a reason to set off anyway.

Milford Track: a guided day walk is one section, not the track

The Milford Track is 53.5 km one way, from Lake Te Anau to Milford Sound. It takes three nights and four days. DOC lists the day distances as 5 km from Glade Wharf to Clinton Hut, 17.5 km to Mintaro, 13 km to Dumpling and 18 km to Sandfly Point. There are three DOC huts and no camping, and you walk in one direction only.

Lake and mountains under a blue sky with white clouds, Milford Sound, Fiordland, New Zealand
Photo by Niklas Ohlrogge on Unsplash

A guided day walk covers one piece of that route: the Sandfly Point side, about 11 km return to Giant Gate Falls. Trips & Tramps sells a guided version of it, and the operator’s page describes a boat-walk-boat day rather than a walking day. From Milford Sound you check in at 8:30 am, take a water taxi across Deep Water Basin to Sandfly Point, walk for about 3.5 hours along the Arthur River and past Lake Ada, stop for a wilderness tea at Giant Gate, and return by water taxi before a two-hour cruise. The operator’s timetable has you back at Milford Wharf around 3:30 pm. Lunch is not included, though you can pre-order a packed lunch.

Two things need checking before you rely on that product. The operator’s page shows prices without a validity date, so this article does not quote them. And the guided day walks sit inside an allocation process. DOC’s consultation says the concessions for the Glade Wharf to Clinton Hut and Sandfly Point to Giants Gate day walks expired on 30 June 2026, and that existing operators continue under their current terms while DOC looks for expressions of interest. Separately, DOC announced in February 2026 a 30-year guided walking concession that went to Tourism Milford Limited, which trades as Ultimate Hikes. Neither fact tells you which company will run which day in 2027, so book against the operator’s confirmed 2027 dates rather than last season’s arrangement.

Self-guided Milford day walk from Milford Sound

Viator lists a self-guided Milford day walk from Milford Sound, sold as Fiordland Outdoors’ Milford Track Day Walk, that includes return boat transport to the track. There is no guide on it. Whether an independent walker may walk the Milford day-walk sections is not something we could settle from DOC’s published pages, so this article does not say that it is allowed or banned. Ask DOC and the operator before you book.

Self-Guided Milford Track Day Walk - Milford Sound USD 87.48 for two adults (checked 26 Oct 2026) · ★ 4.9 (21 reviews)

The full hike: huts, boats and costs that DOC’s fees do not show

Milford hut fees are NZ$106 per night for an adult New Zealander and NZ$152 for an international adult between 1 November and 30 April, which comes to NZ$318 or NZ$456 for three nights in huts. Children pay about half. Those figures exclude everything else the walk needs: the boat across Lake Te Anau to Glade Wharf, the boat from Sandfly Point to Milford Sound, transport to and from Te Anau or Queenstown, food and gear.

The boat is the step most first-time planners miss. The crossing from Te Anau Downs to Glade Wharf is a separate booking, which secondary sources say you make through Tracknet or RealNZ. DOC does not set out the order in which hut bookings and boat seats should be made, so ask the operator before you pay for either. Viator’s water taxi listing is a transfer only, with no guide, no walk and no hut.

The boat across Lake Te Anau

Viator’s water taxi product moves you by boat along the Milford route. It is a transfer, not a day out, and it does not get you a hut bed. Read it as one line of the budget for a full hike, and check its departure time against your hut booking before you pay.

Milford Track Multi-Night Hike - Water Taxi Transport ONLY USD 285.80 for two adults (checked 26 Oct 2026) · ★ 5.0 (60 reviews)

Milford Sound day trip: the best second choice when the huts are full

A Milford Sound day trip is the option most people reach for when the huts are gone. It does not replace the track, but it gets you onto the fiord, a cruise and usually some walking. Plan the drive first. Te Anau to Milford Sound is about 119 km, or 1.5 to 2 hours without stops (RealNZ). Queenstown is about 288 km, around 4.5 hours each way. Allow more time for stops. The Homer Tunnel is single-lane with traffic lights, and RealNZ notes that it can close at short notice after heavy snow. Winter closures are a bigger risk than in the November to April season, but the risk is not zero.

Plan for weather too. RealNZ puts Milford Sound’s rainfall at about 7 metres a year, and NIWA’s 1991 to 2020 mean, as cited in secondary sources, is roughly 6,500 mm and about 185 rain days. Figures vary by source, so treat them as an order of magnitude. A wet day still gives you a Milford Sound day, but the views change, so a spare date is worth having if your trip is short.

Boats on the water with mountains rising behind them at Milford Sound, New Zealand
Photo by Esther Grosscurt on Unsplash

From Te Anau: a full day with cruise and walks

The full-day Milford Sound tour from Te Anau runs about nine hours on the listing. It includes a small-vessel cruise, guided and self-guided nature walks along the Milford Road, and a minivan with no more than 15 travellers. Viator shows it open on 177 of the 179 days in our window.

Full-Day Milford Sound Tour with Cruise and Walks from Te Anau USD 381.78 for two adults (checked 26 Oct 2026) · ★ 5.0 (791 reviews)

From Queenstown: a small-group day with lunch

If you are based in Queenstown, the premium small-group tour is the longest product here, at about 13 hours on the listing. It includes a cruise and a picnic lunch. It has 3,782 reviews on Viator, the most of any product in this selection, and it is open on 171 of the 179 days in the window.

Premium Milford Sound Small Group Tour & Cruise from Queenstown USD 477.10 for two adults (checked 26 Oct 2026) · ★ 4.9 (3782 reviews)

Routeburn: one guided walk on Viator, and what that walk is not

The Routeburn is 33 km one way, not 32, and most walkers take three days and two nights, usually staying at the Routeburn Falls and Lake Mackenzie huts (DOC). It has two far-apart ends. Routeburn Shelter is 25 km from Glenorchy on a partly unsealed road, and The Divide is 85 km from Te Anau. The road distance between the two ends is 325 km, so you need transport at both ends, arranged before you start.

Distant mountains and a valley seen from the Routeburn Track, New Zealand
Photo by Matthew Buchanan on Unsplash

DOC’s hut fees for 1 November to 30 April are NZ$88 per night for an adult New Zealander and NZ$132 for an international adult. That is NZ$176 or NZ$264 for the two nights of a typical walk. Routeburn bookings opened on 15 May 2026 at 9:30 am.

Viator has no hut-to-hut Routeburn trek in the pool we checked, and no multi-day Milford hut trek either. What it does have is one guided Routeburn product with enough reviews to rely on: a full-day guided walk to Key Summit from Te Anau. Be exact about what it is. DOC’s Key Summit side trip, from the Divide area, takes 1 to 1.5 hours return. The Viator listing is a full day of about 7.5 hours, with hotel pick-up in Te Anau, a drive along the Milford Road to the trailhead, and a guide. Both reach the same viewpoint. They are not the same walk.

Key Summit, guided from Te Anau

This is the only Routeburn walk we could find sold on Viator with enough reviews to be useful. Check two things before you book. It runs on 88 of the 179 days in the window, with no fixed weekday, so your date may not be on the list. And the listing says a full refund applies if you cancel at least 24 hours before departure.

Full-Day Routeburn Track Key Summit Guided Walk from Te Anau USD 390.78 for two adults (checked 26 Oct 2026) · ★ 5.0 (30 reviews)

We did not verify guided multi-day Routeburn trips for 2026/27, and none is sold on Viator in the pool we checked.

Last season is a warning worth keeping in mind. On 31 October 2025 DOC reported the Routeburn partly closed between Routeburn Falls and Lake Mackenzie because of deep snow and avalanche risk, and it moved the Milford reopening to 19 November 2025. That was a year ago and says nothing about 2026/27 conditions, but a booked date can still change.

The comparison: guided day walk against full hike

Each cell states its currency. DOC and operator figures are in New Zealand dollars, and Viator figures are in US dollars. None of them is a 2026/27 guided price, because none was published when we checked.

OptionTime on the day or tripDistancePrice (as published)Booking
Milford day walk, guided (Trips & Tramps, from Milford Sound)About 7 h, 8:30 am to about 3:30 pm11 km return, about 3.5 h walkingNot quoted: operator page shows no validity dateOperator, daily from 1 Nov to 30 Apr
Milford day walk, self-guided (Viator 7929P13)Day with return boat transport, 3 to 4 h of walking on the listingNot stated on the listingFrom USD 87.48 for two adultsViator, open 179 of 179 days
Milford Sound day trip from Te Anau (Viator 10245P1)About 9 hCruise and nature walksFrom USD 381.78 for two adultsViator, open 177 of 179 days
Milford full hike, self-guided3 nights, 4 days53.5 km one wayNZ$318 (NZ) or NZ$456 (international), huts onlyDOC, first come, first served
Milford guided multi-day5 days, 4 nights (2025/26 listing)53.5 km one wayNot published for 2026/27Operator; concession under review
Routeburn Key Summit guided day (Viator 10245P4)About 7.5 h, full dayNot stated on the listingFrom USD 390.78 for two adultsViator, open 88 of 179 days
Routeburn hut walk, self-guided3 days, 2 nights typical33 km one wayNZ$176 (NZ) or NZ$264 (international), huts only, two nightsDOC, bookings opened 15 May 2026

Hut-only figures exclude boats, transport, food and gear.

A different track: the Kepler heli-hike

If the Milford and the Routeburn are both full, a guided Kepler Track day by helicopter is the most expensive alternative on this list. It flies you to Luxmore Hut and includes a guide. It is a Kepler product, not a Routeburn one, and the listing does not describe it as a Routeburn walk.

Guided Kepler Track Heli Hike USD 956.54 for two adults (checked 26 Oct 2026) · ★ 5.0 (34 reviews)

Which option fits which traveller

  • First trip, few days to spare. A Milford Sound day trip from Te Anau gives you the fiord, a cruise and walks along the Milford Road. A Milford day walk gives you one section of the track and the boat ride that goes with it, not the whole route.
  • Walker with flexible dates. Keep checking DOC’s booking system in the weeks before your window, and keep a second date in mind. A cancellation is the realistic route into a sold-out hut.
  • Solo traveller. Info&Track says its Routeburn services need at least two passengers to confirm. Check transport before you fix a start date.
  • Family. DOC’s child rates are about half the adult rate on both tracks: Milford NZ$53 (NZ) or NZ$76 (international) per night, Routeburn NZ$44 or NZ$66. Check the age bands on DOC’s pages, because the New Zealand and international bands differ.
  • Budget. Hut fees are only part of a full-hike budget. Boats, transport and food are extra, so price those before you commit to a date.

Dates and season: what is known for 2026/27

The season is 1 November 2026 to 30 April 2027 for both tracks, and the last Milford departure is 28 April 2027 (DOC). DOC’s booking horizon runs to stays up to 30 June 2027. That is wider than the season, so do not confuse the two.

Bookings for 2026/27 opened on 13 May 2026 for the Milford and 15 May for the Routeburn, both at 9:30 am (DOC, release of 26 March 2026). DOC had not published a 2027/28 date when we checked on 26 October 2026, and the 2026 pattern is a hint, not a date.

Outside the season, DOC’s pages say two different things. One says bookings are not required and bunks are first come, first served. Another says hut bookings are still required at a reduced cost. Ask DOC before you plan a winter walk.

Cancellations and refunds

DOC’s Great Walks terms, updated in May 2025, charge a cancellation fee that rises as the arrival date gets closer. The bands are set out on DOC’s terms page, and that page is the only source for the exact timing, so check DOC’s cancellation schedule before you rely on a refund. Refunds go to the original card. If DOC has to cut capacity because of a storm, flood or fire, it refunds the most recent bookings first. A weather closure is not refunded automatically.

Cancellation is also a planning tool. DOC itself suggests checking regularly for spaces, and its 3 June 2026 release says there are still plenty of opportunities for people willing to change dates, tracks or campsites. Build a short list of backup dates before you start looking.

Alternatives when the huts stay full

Hollyford Track is the main independent alternative. It is a DOC hut track in the same corner of Fiordland, about 52.6 km by DOC’s segment figures. It is not a Great Walk, its scenery is different, and it does not cross Mackinnon Pass. DOC’s pages give conflicting day counts, four to five days in the body text and four to eight in the introduction, so check the current figure before you plan around it.

Shorter walks are the other route DOC itself points to. The Routeburn has named day walks, including the Key Summit side trip, while the Milford’s shorter options are the guided and self-guided sections described above.

If the same booking problem shapes your plans elsewhere, the logic carries over. Our Torres del Paine W Trek hut-to-hut guide and Laugavegur hut-season guide both cover what to do when refugios or huts are full.

Mistakes to avoid

Four mistakes that cost walkers a day

Do not join a waiting list, because DOC does not run one. Do not read a day walk as the whole Milford: the day covers about 11 km of a 53.5 km track. Do not confuse the 1 to 1.5 hour DOC Key Summit side trip with a full-day guided tour, which takes about 7.5 hours on its listing. And do not book the boat crossing and the hut as if they were one booking, because the order and the timing are not set out by DOC.

Before you book: checklist

  • Pick dates between 1 November 2026 and 28 April 2027 for the Milford, and check the last departure time against your boat.
  • Check DOC's booking system for cancellations on your target dates and on the days either side of them.
  • Ask DOC about the winter rules if your walk falls outside the Great Walks season.
  • Confirm the day-walk operator and its 2026/27 dates directly, because the concession holders are under review.
  • Check the Viator listing's open days for your exact date and party size before you pay.
  • Confirm Routeburn transport at both ends, and remember Info&Track needs two passengers to confirm.
  • Book the Te Anau boat crossing separately if you walk the full Milford, and check the order of bookings with the operator.
  • Keep a spare day for the weather at Milford Sound.

Huts are the hardest part of a Great Walk to plan, and the day options are the honest substitute only when you know what they cover. A guided day walk is a slice of the Milford. A Milford Sound day trip is the fiord without the walk. A Key Summit day is the view from the top of the Routeburn, not the track. Choose the option that matches the walk you want, not the one that still has a space.

Practical info

FAQ

Can you walk the Milford Track in a day?

No. The Milford Track is 53.5 km one way and takes three nights and four days, according to DOC. A guided or self-guided day walk covers one part of it, the Sandfly Point side, about 11 km return, with a boat ride on either side. That is a good day out on the water and on foot, but you do not walk the Milford Track in it, and it does not replace the hut walk.

Is there a waiting list for the Milford and Routeburn huts?

No. DOC says it does not have waiting lists for future seasons or for facilities that are already booked out, and all bookings are first come, first served. Check DOC's booking system regularly for cancellations, try dates outside peak periods and public holidays, or switch to a day option. Milford sold out in 34 minutes when the 2026/27 season opened in May 2026, so keep your search active from the first day.

How can I see Milford Sound if the huts are full?

A day trip from Te Anau or Queenstown is the usual route. Viator's Te Anau full-day tour with cruise and walks (10245P1) starts at USD 381.78 for two adults, and the Milford Sound day walk with return boat transport (7929P13) starts at USD 87.48 for two. Both prices were checked on 26 October 2026 for the 2026/27 window. They vary by date and party size, so check your exact date before paying.

Does Viator sell a guided Routeburn hut-to-hut trek?

No. In the pool we checked on 26 October 2026, Viator sells no multi-day Routeburn or Milford hut trek. The one guided Routeburn product with enough reviews is a full-day guided walk to Key Summit from Te Anau (10245P4), open on 88 of the 179 days in the window. The tour is a day trip, so it needs no hut booking.

How long is the Key Summit walk on the Routeburn?

DOC gives the Key Summit side trip from the Divide area as 1 to 1.5 hours return. A guided Key Summit tour from Te Anau runs about 7.5 hours on its Viator listing, with hotel pick-up, a drive along the Milford Road to the trailhead and a guide. Both reach the same viewpoint, but they are different products with different time commitments, so read the listing before you book.

How much are the 2026/27 hut fees?

For 1 November to 30 April, DOC lists NZ$106 per night for an adult New Zealander on the Milford and NZ$152 for an international adult, and NZ$88 and NZ$132 per night on the Routeburn. Children pay about half. Those are hut fees only. Three Milford nights cost NZ$318 for a New Zealander and NZ$456 for an international adult. Boats, transport, food and gear are extra.

Can I get a refund if I cancel a Great Walk booking?

Partly, and it depends on timing. DOC charges a fee that rises as the arrival date gets closer, so the earlier you cancel, the more you recover. The exact bands are on DOC's Great Walks terms page, so check DOC's cancellation schedule before you rely on a refund. Refunds go to the original card. If DOC has to cut capacity because of a storm, flood or fire, the most recent bookings are refunded first.

Will the Milford guided day walks run in 2027 with the same operator?

Not necessarily. DOC says the concessions for the Glade Wharf to Clinton Hut and the Sandfly Point to Giants Gate guided day walks expired on 30 June 2026, and existing operators continue under their current terms while DOC seeks expressions of interest. Ask the operator for its confirmed 2026/27 dates and check who holds the concession before you book.

Sources

  1. DOC - Milford Track — Department of Conservation (DOC)
  2. DOC - Milford Track fees and bookings — Department of Conservation (DOC)
  3. DOC - Routeburn Track — Department of Conservation (DOC)
  4. DOC - Online bookings — Department of Conservation (DOC)
  5. DOC - Great Walks terms and conditions — Department of Conservation (DOC)
  6. DOC media release, record demand for bookings (3 June 2026) — Department of Conservation (DOC)
  7. DOC media release, 2026/27 booking schedule (26 March 2026) — Department of Conservation (DOC)
  8. DOC consultation, guided day walks on the Milford Track (2026) — Department of Conservation (DOC)
  9. DOC media release, new concessions (12 February 2026) — Department of Conservation (DOC)
  10. DOC media release, weather impacts on Great Walks (31 October 2025) — Department of Conservation (DOC)
  11. RealNZ - Milford Sound from Te Anau or Queenstown — RealNZ
Your choices have been saved.